Saturday, April 01, 2023

Browning, C-Falls and Polson have girls, boys picked All-State

by Daily Inter Lake
| March 15, 2023 11:55 PM

Browning, Columbia Falls and Polson each have one All-State player for boys and girls, while Browning ended up with five first-team selections for the All-Northwest basketball teams released this week.

On the boys’ side Columbia Falls, which made its first State A appearance since 2015, had juniors Jace Hill and Alihn Anderson selected to the first team. Hill was chosen Co-Most Valuable Player for the league along with Browning junior Maurice Redhorn III.

Redhorn was joined on the first team by teammate Brayds Vielle, a senior. Filling out the first team All-State was Polson senior Jarrett Wilson; Wilson, Redhorn and Hill were All-State selections.

On the girls side Browning — the league’s lone entrant at the State A girls tournament — had three first-team all-league selections, led by All-State pick Mecca Bull Child, a senior.

Senior Lish Spoonhuner and junior Jerel White Grass were first-team all-Northwest A as well for the Lady Indians.

Columbia Falls’ junior Hope McAtee and Polson senior Mila Hawk were selected All-State.

The complete honors teams are below:

All-Northwest A


First team

1-Jace Hill,* jr. Columbia Falls

1-Maurice Redhorn III,* jr. Browning

Jarrett Wilson,* sr., Polson

Brayds Vielle, sr., Browning

Alihn Andrson, jr. Columbia Falls

Second team — Tommy Running Rabbit, jr., Browning; Cody Schweikert, jr., Columbia Falls; Tyler Anderson, jr., Libby; Marlo Tonasket, Jr., jr., Ronan; Mason Kelch, jr., Whitefish.

Honorable mention — Espn Fisher, jr., Polson; Robert Reagan, jr., Polson; Robert Reagan, sr., Browning; Hunter Goodman, jr., Columbia Falls; Trent Wilson, sr., Polson; Kolby Finley, fr., Ronan; Jack Sears, sr., Whitefish



First team

Mecca Bull Child,* sr. Browning

Hope McAtee,* jr. Columbia Falls

Mila Hawk,* sr. Polson

Lish Spoonhunter, sr. Browning

Jerel Whitegrass, jr. Browning

Second team — Julia Barnard, jr., Polson; Taryn Borgen, so., Columbia Falls; Leina Ulutoa, sr., Ronan; Kalcie Connelly, jr., Browning; Olivia Heiner, sr., Ronan.

Honorable mention — Amari Calf Robe-Thomas, jr., Browning; Bailey Smith, jr., Whitefish; Grace Simonich, sr., Polson; Lexi Oberholtzer, jr., Columbia Falls; Rylee Boltz, sr., Libby; Margaret Cordova, sr., Ronan.

*-denotes All-State selection.

Recent Headlines