Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Glacier speech and debate grabs 'wild' win

Daily Inter Lake | December 14, 2021 12:00 AM

In a win described by Glacier High School Head Coach Greg Adkins as one of the wildest finishes at a speech and debate tournament, the Wolfpack squeaked by Flathead High School by a mere half point this weekend.

Glacier scored 141 overall points to Flathead’s 140.5 points at the two-day tournament in Great Falls. All 16 Montana Class AA teams competed.

“I told the team to never take winning AA tournaments for granted. That was just wild. We are very fortunate to have come out on top this weekend,” Adkins said.

The shocking upset didn’t stop there, said Flathead Head Coach Shannon O’Donnell, with Billings West overcoming Bozeman with its dominating debate performance to secure third place. Billings West scored 140 overall 140 points and Bozeman, 131.

“As the state tournament looms closer and the Flathead team continues to close the gap separating the top teams, it’s clear this year’s season will have an exciting finish. It’s anybody’s game this time,” Flathead Head Coach Shannon O’Donnell said.

Glacier, which remains undefeated, had five individual champions — Mac Adkins in Original Oratory; Lane McKoy in Informative Speaking; Alexa Wilton in Program Oral Interpretation; and Alexandra Houseworth and Mason Fauth in Varsity Policy Debate.

Flathead’s four individual champions included Bauer Hollman in Humorous Interpretation; Annelise Mason in Legislative Debate; Brooklyn Stewart in Memorized Public Address; and Scout McMahon in Extemporaneous Speaking.

In upcoming tournaments, Glacier will host the first “Yeti Invitational” Jan. 7-8. The high school is seeking volunteer judges. People interested in judging may sign up at

Following are individual results from the Great Falls tournament.

Varsity Policy Debate

  1. Mason Fauth and Alexandra Houseworth, Glacier
  2. Evan Sevaly and Jillian Wynne, Flathead

Novice Policy Debate

  1. Ben Adjemovic and Vincent Lam, Flathead

Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate

  1. Miles Sneeden, Glacier

Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate

  1. Gaby Allred, Glacier
  2. Kevin Fortin, Glacier

Legislative Debate

  1. Annelise Mason, Flathead
  2. Emily Hove, Flathead
  3. Calvin Schmidt, Glacier

Impromptu Speaking

  1. Scout McMahon, Flathead
  2. Olivia Baker, Glacier
  3. Neila Lyngholm, Flathead
  4. Leah Spangler, Flathead
  5. Harrison Sanders, Glacier

Extemporaneous Speaking

  1. Scout McMahon, Flathead
  2. Leah Spangler, Flathead
  3. Caleb Lamb, Glacier

Program Oral Interpretation

  1. Alexa Wilton, Glacier
  2. Zephy Hanson, Glacier

Duo Interpretation

  1. Avram Bingham and Kaelin Holt, Glacier
  2. James Francis and Kadence Johnson, Flathead
  3. Evan Schow and Tag Schow, Flathead
  4. Aiden Christy and Sophia Dykhuizen, Flathead
  5. Quindy Gronley and Claire Schwaller, Glacier

Humorous Interpretation

  1. Bauer Hollman, Flathead
  2. Jasmine Anderson, Flathead
  3. Meyer Fauth, Glacier
  4. Davis Rennie, Glacier
  5. Aiden Christy, Flathead

Dramatic Interpretation

  1. Ryan Tiet, Flathead
  2. Bethany Nairn, Flathead

Original Oratory

  1. Mac Adkins, Glacier
  2. Bella AuClaire, Glacier
  3. Braelynn Anderson, Flathead

Informative Speaking

  1. Lane McKoy, Glacier
  2. Hailey Hendrickson, Flathead
  3. Mason Hermann, Flathead

Memorized Public Address

  1. Brooklyn Stewart, Flathead
  2. Avram Bingham, Glacier
  3. Janasya Amaker, Glacier
  4. Alexa Wilton, Glacier

Reporter Hilary Matheson may be reached at 758-4431 or by email at