Saturday, August 13, 2022

Lovell repeats as State Am champion

| July 31, 2022 12:00 AM

BOZEMAN — It was déjà vu at the 105th Montana State Amateur Championships, as all three divisions will have the same winners as in 2021.

Bozeman’s Joey Lovell became the first repeat champion in the State AM since Brandon McIver won in 2013-14. Lovell, who opened the championship with a sizzling 8-under par 63, was steady in his last two rounds with 69-71 for a 203 total. His 10-under total was one stroke better than Joey Moore, the Billings golfer that was runnerup a year ago and the 2019 champion.

Lovell has been on a tour-de-force for the 2022 season with Montana state titles at the Four Ball (with teammate Chris Goldan) in May. Now he’s collected his second State Amateur Trophy.

Moore had the low round of the day with 68 and had a putt to tie on 18. Moore’s shot 69-67-68 for nine-under-par.

Libby product and Arizona State golfer Ryggs Johnston, the 2018 champion, shot three rounds of 70. He finished alone in third, seven strokes out of the lead..

Missoula’s Kade McDonough also will have his name etched on a trophy for the second consecutive year: The Sentinel standout won the Steve Schwartz Memorial Trophy, given to the low junior amateur.

McDonough finished tied for fourth overall at 218 (72-71-75). Tyler Erickson, the 2002 Champion also shot 218 with rounds of 74-72-72 to win the third flight.

Laurel’s Cameron Hackmann posted a round of 69 (-2) that included seven birdies (2,3,4,7,9,14, 16) with sides of 32-37 to win the first flight.

Lovell and Chris Goldan of Black Bull claimed the Barnett Cup which is awarded to the winning club that has the best two-player total for the first two rounds.

In the Senior division, defending champion Bill Dunn of Missoula continued his statewide dominance on the senior circuit as he closed with 74, including a 34 on his inward nine. Dunn, who was inducted into the Montana State Golf Association Hall of Fame on Wednesday, won by eight shots with a three-day total of 215 (71-70-74).

Bill Leach of Wilsall and Paul Uithoven of Bozeman tied for second at 223.

In the Super Senior Division, defending champion Cory Bedell of Missoula tied with Bozeman’s Tim Haas at 221, then beat Haas on the second sudden-death playoff hole, making a 25-foot birdie on hole 18 to win. Bedell repeats as champion thanks to rounds of 75-72-74.

Recent Headlines