Tuesday, July 05, 2022

Carroll’s Paulson is men’s Frontier Coach of Year

by Daily Inter Lake
| March 2, 2022 12:00 AM

WHITEFISH — Commissioner Kent Paulson announced the 2021-22 Frontier Conference All-Conference Men’s Basketball team, as well as individual award winners, all-defensive team and Champions of Character after balloting by the league’s coaches.

Carroll College’s Kurt Paulson was selected as the 2021-22 Coach of the Year. The Saints are 28-4 this season after falling to Montana Tech 62-61 in Monday’s Frontier championship game, and will host a four-team NAIA Tournament regional.

Saints senior forward Jovan Sljivancanin was selected as the league’s Player of the Year as well, after finishing second in the league in scoring (19.4 points per game) and first in rebounding (10.9 average).

Teammate Shamrock Campbell joined Sljivancanin on the first team; he averaged 14.3 points a game.

Montana Tech put sophomore forward Caleb Bellach and senior guard Sindou Diallo on the first team, and Bellach was selected as Newcomer of the Year after averaging 15 points and five rebounds.

Providence’s Marcus Stephens, a first-team selection last year and the top scorer in the conference this season at 20.4 points per game, was named second-team.

Montana Tech freshman guard Keeley Bake was selected Sixth-Man of the Year, and the Diggers’ Derrius Collins is Defensive Player of the Year.

Among the Champions of Character team is Bigfork product Beau Sattistevan, who averaged 9.2 points and 6.4 rebounds for the Rocky Mountain College Battlin’ Bears.

The complete honors teams are below:

All-Frontier Team


First team

Shamrock Campbell, G, 6-1, sr.*! Carroll Spokane

Javon Sljivancanin, F, 6-5, sr.*+ Carroll Belgrade, Serbia

Mascio McCadney, G, 6-3, sr. *+ MSU-Northern Detroit

Caleb Bellach, F, 6-7, so. Montana Tech Manhattan

Sindou Diallo, G, 6-3, sr.^* Montana Tech Tacoma

Jalen Hodges, F, 6-6, sr.< Montana Western Duluth, Ga.

Second team

David Harris, G, 6-1, sr.< MSU-Northern Tacoma

Taylor England, F, 6-7, sr.^<# Montana Tech Helena

Max Clark, G, 6-3, sr. Montana Western Lawrenceville, Ga.

Jamal Stephensen, G, 6-3, jr. Montana Western Stokie, Ill.

Abdul Bah, G, 6-2, jr. Rocky Carson, Calif.

Marcus Stephens, F, 6-3, jr.* Providence Tacoma

*-First team in 2020-21

^-First team in 2019-20

<-Second team in 2020-21

+-Second team in 2019-20

-Second team in 2018-19

!-Honorable mention in 2018-19

Coach of the Year — Kurt Paulson, Carroll

Player of the Year — Jovan Sljivancanin, Carroll

Newcomer of the Year — Caleb Bellach, Montana Tech

Sixth man of the Year — Keeley Bake, fr., Montana Tech

Freshman of the Year — Kael Robinson, Rocky

Defensive Player of the Year — Derrius Collins, Montana Tech

All-Defensive Team

Shamrock Campbell, Carroll; Jonny HIllman, jr., Carroll; Jesse Keltner, jr., MSU-Northern; Derrios Collins, sr., Missoula; Dawson Fowler, jr., Providence.

Champions of Character

Jaedon Lieberg, jr., Carroll; Christian Jones, sr., Montana Tech; Treyton Paxton, so., Montana Western; CJ Nelson, jr., MSU-Northern; Beau Santistevan, jr., Rocky; Dawson Fowler, Providence.

Recent Headlines