Tuesday, October 03, 2023

Pablo woman selected for PEO scholarship

| September 22, 2022 12:00 AM

P.EO., Chapter CA, Polson, received notification of their candidate, Hydee Wilson, being selected for the 2022-2023 Jane Hammer Holmgren Scholarship (JHHS). The scholarship recognizes an outstanding Montana woman who is pursuing a degree in elementary education. It was established in 1996 and given in memory of Jane Hammer Holmgren of Kalispell who died at age 39, leaving two children after a difficult battle with cancer. A P.E.O. chapter may nominate a candidate who has completed at least two years of college in pursuing a bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, or post-graduate work in elementary education and upon completion will be working with students rather than administration.

Wilson, who lives in Pablo, is a junior at Salish Kootenai College and plans to graduate in June 2023 with a degree in elementary education. She has been on the dean’s list in 2019, 2020 and 2021 and the president's list in 2022. She is an enrolled member of the Crow Tribe. She says she believes that children should be able to work together and do hands-on learning activities. Through these experiences children will feel like they are part of something larger and develop a sense of belonging, purpose and value. Wilson will incorporate lessons in her daily planning from the Indian Education for All Act, a law passed by the state of Montana in 1999 to ensure all public school students develop a greater understanding of Native cultures.

P.E.O. is an international organization, which has supported and inspired women since it was organized in 1869 at Iowa Wesleyan College. In Montana there are just under 6,000 P.E’s, from 89 chapters in 35 communities. They are a significant part of the International Chapter made up of over 200,000 members in the U.S. and Canada. P.E.O.’s motto is “Women helping women reach for the stars.”

The following students were named to the summer 2022 president's list at Southern New Hampshire University:

Bigfork — Connie Zarn

Kalispell — Kylie Hewitt

Whitefish — Kirsten Prestegaard

Marcus DeVries of Kalispell was one of six students and two faculty members sent by Central College in Pella, Iowa, to the 2022 national meeting of the American Chemical Society in Chicago where they presented their research. DeVries is a Class of 2023 biochemistry major and reported on the topic "Efforts toward the synthesis of reduced cambiarenes."

Esther Williamson of Lakeside has qualified for the spring 2022 dean's list at Seton Hall University in South Orange, New Jersey.

Kenna Vanorny of Kalispell is enrolled with the University of Iowa’s Class of 2026 and plans to pursue a degree in biomedical engineering.

Michelle Bailey of Whitefish was recently named to the spring 2022 chancellor's list at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

St. Lawrence University in Canton, New York, recently welcomed William H. Lewison of Whitefish as a member of the Class of 2026. Lewison attended Whitefish High School.

Recent Headlines