Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Prep Hoops: Kastelitz is All-State

by Daily Inter Lake
| March 20, 2024 12:00 AM

The Class AA coaches have selected their basketball honors teams, and Glacier’s Cohen Kastelitz leads the list of Kalispell honorees.

Kastelitz, a 6-foot-3 senior who led Class AA in rebounding at 10.6 a game, is the lone local All-State pick, as signified by his selection to the Western AA first-team. 

Kastelitz ranked sixth in the league in scoring at 12.9 points per game, and everyone ahead of him was first-team all-Western AA and All-State as well.

The list includes Helena’s Tevin Wetzel and Jaxan Leiberg, Missoula Hellgate’s Easton Sant and Butte's Hudson Luedtke. Luedtke and Sant were chose co-most valuable players on offense for the league.

Wetzel and Lieberg were 1-2 in the conference in scoring, at 17.1 and 16.2 points per game. Luedtke, a sophomore, was right behind at 15.8. 

Sant averaged 15.3 points a game and he and his co-MVP each averaged 5.9 assists per outing.

Wetzel, Lieberg, Luedtke and Sant were all All-State a year ago as well.

Glacier and Flathead both had players get honorable mention: junior guard Liam Ells for the Wolfpack, and junior forward Lyric Ersland for the Braves.

On the girls’ side Flathead’s Kennedy Moore and Glacier’s Reese Ramey were second team all-Western AA. 

Moore, a 6-2 senior, finished fourth in the Western AA in scoring (14.8 points per game) and first in rebounding (9.7). Ramey, a 5-7 junior, was seventh in the league in scoring at 13.2 ppg and was seventh in 3-point percentage, making 22 of 65 (.338). 

Glacier senior Noah Fincher was also honorable mention.

Missoula Big Sky junior Kadynce Couture led the first-team selections, and was the Western AA’s offensive MVP.

Couture, Moore and Hellgate’s Chloe Larson were all All-State for 2022-23.

Western AA


First Team*

Easton Sant, 5-11, jr.    Missoula Hellgate

Hudson Luedtke. 6-2, so.    Butte

Tevin Wetzel, 6-0, jr.    Helena

Grady Walker, 6-4, sr.    Missoula Sentinel

Jaxan Lieberg, 6-3, jr.    Helena

Cohen Kastelitz. 6=3. sr/    Glacier

*-denotes All-State selection

Second Team

Cole Dawes. 6-5, sr.    Helena Capital

Zane Gillhouse, 6-4, so.    Missoula Hellgate

Isaiah Reed, 5-8, jr.    Missoula Big Sky

Chance McNulty, 6-0, jr.    Missoula Hellgate

Kyler Meredith, 6-1, sr.    Helena Capital

Lincoln Rogers, 6-5, so.    Missoula Sentinel

Tocher Lee, 5-8, jr.    Butte

Honorable mention — Carson Towe, jr., Missoula Big Sky; Lyric Ersland, jr., Flathead; Liam Ells, jr., Glacier; Dylan Boche, jr., Butte; Rueso Batterman, jr., Butte.

Co-Offensive MVPs — Hudson Luedtke, Butte, and Easton Sant, Hellgate.

Defensive MVP — Dylan Almquist, Capital.

Sixth Man of Year — Parker Link, Hellgate.

Coach of the Year — Jeff Hays, Hellgate.


First Team*

Kadynce Couture, 5-9,  jr.    Missoula Big Sky

Chloe Larson, 5-11, sr.    Missoula Hellgate

Cadence Graham, 5-5, fr.    Butte

Emily McElmurry, 5-9, sr.    Missoula Sentinel

Avery Kraft, 5-6, sr.    Helena

Avory DeCoite, 5-7, so.    Missoula Big Sky

Second Team

Kennedy Moore, 6-2, sr.    Flathead

Taylor Sayers, 5-8, sr.    Capital

Madi Todorovich, 5-10, sr.    Helena

Reese Ramey, 5-6, jr.    Glacier

Elly Reed, 6-0, so.     Missoula Hellgate

Audrey Hale, 5-5, sr.    Missoula Big Sky

Honorable mention — Kylie Gardipee, sr., Helena; Brityn Stewart, jr., Butte; Mo Mastro, sr., Sentinel; Gianna Passuccio, so., Hellgate; Katie Sheridan, sr., Capital; Noah Fincher, sr., Glacier; Kaitlyn Hammett, jr., Sentinel.

Offensive MVP — Kadynce Couture, Big Sky.

Defensive MVP — Chloe Larson, Hellgate.

Coach of the Year — Maddie Keast, Hellgate.

Eastern AA


First Team*

Kellen Harris, 6-1, sr.    Bozeman

Dean Blair, 6-5, jr.    CMR

Jack Repscher, 6-1, sr.    Gallatin

Kash Embry, 6-1, jr.    Bozeman

Braden Zimmer, 6-6, sr.    Billings West

Second Team

Ben Erbacher, 5-11, jr.    Billings West

Tayshaun Williams, 6-3, so.    Billings Skyview

Grant Vigen, 6-6, jr.    Gallatin

Rylan McCollim, 6-5, sr.    Belgrade

Zad Rodarte, 6-1, sr.    Gallatin

Honorable mention — Cooper Tylson, sr., Billings West; Rocky Lencioni, sr., Bozeman; Silas Walton, sr., Billings Senior; Jonah Van Tassell, jr., CMR; Troy Hugs, sr, Gallatin; Maclain Burckley, sr., Billings Senior; Anthony Schacht, sr., Skyview; Zakai Owens, jr., Skyview; Scott Klinker, sr., Great Falls; Daniel Marinko, sr., Belgrade; Josh Goudy, sr., Billings Senior; Quaid Ash, sr., Bozeman; Braden Glyde, sr., Belgrade.

Offensive MVP — Kellen Harrison, Bozeman.

Defensive MVP — Ben Erbacher, Billings West.

Sixth Man of Year — Tayshaun Williams, Skyview.

Coach of the Year — Michael Claxton, Gallatin.


First Team*

Breanna Willilams, 6-3, sr.    Skyview

Kourtney Graham, 6-0, sr.    Billings West

Jada Davis, 5-8, so.    Gallatin

Halle Haber, 5-11, sr.    Billings West

Ave Odegard, 5-10, so.    Gallatin

Rae Smart, 5-9, jr.    Skyview

Second Team

Macie Wheeler, 5-11, sr.    CMR

Brooklyn Pierce, 6-3, so.    Billings West

Rhema Pace, 5-5, jr.    CMR

Taryn Salverson, 5-9, jr.    Skyview

Emma Hardman, 5-11, jr.    Gallatin

Ava Epler, 5-11, sr.    Bozeman

Honorable mention — Kyesha Farmer, sr., Great Falls; Angel Martin, sr., Skyview; Eva Blatchford, so., Billings Senior; Dylan Simonson, sr., CMR; Maykayla Coleman, so., Gallatin; Reagan Soucy, so., Billings West; Piper Jette, sr., Billings Senior; isabelle Blossom, jr., Belgrade.

Offensive MVP — Breanna Williams, Skyview.

Co-Defensive MVPs — Kourtney Grossman, West, and Jada Davis, Gallatin.

Coach of the Year — Randy Chase, Skyview.