Saturday, August 13, 2022

Eagle Bend golfer Niesen leads Montana State Seniors

by Daily Inter Lake
| August 3, 2022 12:00 AM

Eagle Bend golfer Jeff Niesen is the first-round leader at the Montana State Senior Tournament after shooting a 3-under 69 Tuesday at Meadow Lake Golf Club.

Niesen had four birdies, including on the first two holes he played in the shotgun start — Nos. 4 and 5 — and a bogey while building a six-shot lead over Gene Walsh of Whitefish Lake Golf Club and Dave Stengel of The Ranch Club in Missoula.

The tournament lasts 54 holes, switching venues from Buffalo Hill Golf Club to Meadow Lake to Whitefish Lake Golf Club.

All but one of the top 20 golfers (and ties) Tuesday played Meadow Lake; that same group will play Whitefish Lake Wednesday and Buffalo Hill on Thursday.

The one interloper is Mike Lincoln of Buffalo Hill, who fired a 79 on his home course. He’ll play Meadow Lake Wednesday.

Walsh and Stengel lead a group of 21 golfers with six strokes.

BIll Dunn of Missoula Country Club, Bill Leach of Livingston Golf Club and Hunter Lloyd of Bridger Creek Golf Club (Bozeman) are tied for fourth at 76. Dunn is the defending tournament champion and won the Senior Division at the Montana State Am that concluded in Bozeman Saturday.

Brad Grattan of Whitefish Lake, Carl Funk of Polson Bay Golf Club, Earl Rife of Northern Pines Golf Club and Tony Kindle of Marian Hills (Malta) all fired opening-day 77s, and sit tied for seventh.

Walsh has the best round among the Freshman Division, for ages 55-62; Niesen plays in the Sophomore Division, or ages 63-69. Ron Janney’s 80 leads the Junior Division (70-77) and Lauren McClurg out of Eagle Bend shot an 81 to lead the Senior Division (78-plus).

Montana State Seniors Championship

Aug. 2-4, Kalispell

Jeff Niesen, Eagle Bend GC 69

Gene Walsh, Whitefish Lake GC 75

Dave Stengel, The Ranch Club 75

Bill Dunn, Missoula CC 76

Bill Leach, Livingston GC 76

Hunter Lloyd, Bridger Creek GC 76

Brad Grattan, Whitefish Lake GC 77

Carl Funk, Polson Bay GC 77

Earl Rife, Northern Pines GC 77

Tony Kindle, Marian Hills GC 77

Joe Cielak, Cabinet View GC 78

Marshall Bettendorf, Madison Meadows 78

Mike Lincoln, Buffalo Hill GC 79

Ron Ramsbacher, Missoula CC 79

Lou Bahin, Canyon River GC 79

Rod Brady, Whitefish Lake GC 79

Will Eide, Valley View 79

Martine Reilly, Fairmont GC 79

Brady Selle, Cabinet View GC 79

Ron Janney, Wilderness Club 80

David Meeks, Eagle Bend GC 80

Lee Levine, Riverside GC 80

Complete results and tee times can be found at

Recent Headlines