Saturday, April 01, 2023

3 each from Bravettes, Pack are all-tourney

by Daily Inter Lake
| March 15, 2023 12:50 PM

The Flathead Bravettes and Glacier Wolfpack, who finished second and third at the State AA basketball tournaments, each put three players on their respective all-tournament teams.

For the Glacier boys, junior Cohen Kastelitz and seniors Noah Dowler and Kaidrian Buls were all-tournament, in voting compiled by Lowell Peterson of The trio helped the Pack garner the second boys basketball trophy in the school’s history.

Kastelitz averaged 15 points and 9.8 rebounds in four games in Butte for Glacier, which beat Bozeman 53-43 in the third-place game to finish 17-8.

Dowler averaged 7.8 points and a tournament-best 11.8 rebounds; Buls averaged 13 points in four games, shooting 46 percent from the field (19 of 41) and 3-point range (11 of 24).

Three members of state champion Missoula Hellgate — including most valuable player Connor Dick — were also named to the 12-person team; runner-up Billings West had two. Dick led the Knights to the state title with a 28-point, 8-rebound performance in a 70-50 win over West.

For the tournament Dick averaged 17.7 points and eight rebounds in three games; he shot 19 of 32 from the field and was 8 of 13 at the free throw line.

The Flathead Bravettes, who fell 48-43 to Billings West in the title game, had junior Kennedy Moore and seniors Avery Chouinard and Maddy Moy named all-tournament.

Moore averaged 17 points and nine rebounds in the Bravettes’ first run to the title game since back-to-back championships in 2000-01. Chouinard averaged 11 points, shooting 8 of 20 from 3-point range in three games; Moy averaged 9.8 points and came up with 10 steals.

Flathead, which took third at last year’s state tournament, finished 19-5 — its second straight 19-win season.

Billings West, which finished 21-2, put four players on the all-tournament team and guard Layla Baumann was named MVP: The senior scored 36 points and had six steals in three games. She shot 12 of 25 from the field, and 7 of 10 from the arc.

The complete honors teams are below:

State AA All-Tournament


Connor Dick, 6-4, sr. Hellgate (MVP)

Cooper Tyson, 6-3, jr. Billings West

Donovyn Headswift, 6-2, sr. Hellgate

Easton Sant, 5-11, so. Hellgate

Billy Carlson, 6-3, sr. West

Kellen Harrison, 6-0, sr. Bozeman

Eli Hunter, 6-2, sr. Gallatin

Cohen Kastelitz, 6-3, sr. Glacier

Noah Dowler, 6-7, sr. Glacier

Kadrian Buls, 6-1, sr. Glacier

Lane Love, 6-6, sr. Skyview

Hudsen Luedtke, 6-1, fr. Butte


Layla Baumann, 5-9, sr. West (MVP)

Kennedy Moore, 6-2, jr. Flathead

Breanna Williams, 6-2, jr. Skyview

Sydney Pierce, 6-4, jr. West

Kourtney Grossman, 6-0, jr. West

Chloe Larsen, 6-11, jr. Hellgate

Avery Chouinard, 5-8, sr. Flathead

Alex Covill, 6-6, sr. Hellgate

Brooklyn Pierce, 6-3, fr. West

Kaydynce Couture, 5-9, so. Big Sky

Tailyn Black, 5-8, sr. Bozeman

Maddy Moy, 5-9, sr. Flathead

Recent Headlines