Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Western AA Volleyball: Glacier's Speer is Player of Year

by Daily Inter Lake
| November 23, 2023 8:00 AM

Haven Speer, senior setter for the Western AA champion Glacier Wolfpack, has been named first-team All-State volleyball as well as her conference’s Player of the Year.

Coaches across Class AA picked a 10-member first team and 11-member second team for All-State; Speer and Missoula Sentinel’s Ava Kellenberg were the lone Western AA athletes named to the first team.

The second team also included just two Western players, not surprisingly in a season in which Eastern teams claimed the top four places at the State AA tournament.

State champion Billings West saw Sydney Pierce, Austin Long and Addie Alen all repeat as first-team All-State; Billings Senior’s Leela Ormsbry is also a two-time first-teamer.

Glacier had Leila Major, Kenedee Moore, Sarah Downs and Speer all make first-team all-Western AA. In addition Ella Farrell was second-team all-conference.

Flathead was represented by Sienna Sterck on the All-Western AA first team and Olive Lyngholm on the second team.

Downs and Sterck were also first-team all-conference last season.

All-State AA

First team

Libero    Austin Long, sr., Billings West

    Taylor Ketchum, sr., Billings Senior

Middle blocker    Cadence Lundgren, jr., Gallatin

    Leela Ormsby, jr., Billings Senior

    Sydney Pierce, sr.    Billings West

Outside Hitter    Ava Kellenberg, sr., Sentinel    

    Karsen Breeding, sr., Gallatin

    Kourtney Grossman, sr., Billings West

Setter    Addie Allen, sr., Billings West

    Haven Speer, sr., Glacier

Second Team

Libero    Bailey Casagrande, sr., Sentinel

    Rhema Pace, jr., CMR

    Sofia Kimmel, jr., Bozeman

MB    Abby Little, so., Skyview

    Birdie Heuiser, jr., Helena

    Halle Haber, sr., Billings West

OH    Josie Blazina, sr., Belgrade

    Morgan Jones, jr., Bozeman

    Piper Jette, sr., Billings Senior

    Makenzie Jackson, sr., Helena

Setter    Addie Swanson, sr., Gallatin

Players of the Year

Eastern AA    Addie Allen, Billings West

Western AA    Haven Speer, Glacier

All-Western AA

First team

OH    Ava Kellenberg, sr., Sentinel

    Sarah Downs, sr., Glacier

    Sienna Sterck, sr., Flathead

    Makenzie Jackson, sr., Helena

MB    Birdie Heuiser, jr., Helena

    Leila Major, sr., Glacier

Setter    Haven Speer, sr., Glacier

    Malena Onespot-Danforth, sr, Helena

Libero    Bailey Casagrande, sr., Sentinel

    Kenedee Moore, jr., Glacier

Second team

OH — Ella Farrell, sr., Glacier; Chloe Anderson, jr., Helena; Olive Lyngholm, sr., Flathead.

MB — Margaret Sharkey, sr., Sentinel; Tey’ana Lintner, sr., Capital.

Setter — Jaycee Cleveland, jr., Butte; Moana Massey, jr., Hellgate.

Libero — Kate Berg, sr., Capital; Kendall Kratofil, jr., Flathead; Kennedy Dypwick, sr., Sentinel.

Honorable Mention

Annika Nehring, OH, Helena; halee Spicknall, OH, Sentinel; Ella McCarthy, MB, Helena; Shelby Clixby, MB, Big Sky; Graice McCollumn, L, Big Sky; Morgan Messner, L, Hellgate.

Recent Headlines